The One We Will Celebrate Very Soon

Let me tell you about my children.

I love my children. Even though Chloe is still so little, I can already tell they are such different people. It is so cool that each of them will have their own unique giftings and callings.

Caleb is an entertainer. His favorite instrument is the guitar, and he just absolutely loves to dance along to any music he hears! He makes us laugh constantly. His facial expressions are adorable. He is so affectionate to Brett, Chloe, and me. Sometimes Caleb is a little too affectionate towards Chloe and practically smothers her. It still warms my heart to see his little 21 month old self trying to love on his baby sister. He loves to give kisses and hugs. When Brett leaves for work, Caleb always wants a kiss from him. Caleb has a heart of gold. He already loves to pray for others (with one of the ten words he knows!). Every night before bed, Brett and I talk about how much joy he brings into our lives. The funny thing is that there are many times during the day when he does something he knows is wrongs or tests his boundaries. But by the end of the day, none of that matters; all I can think of is how awesome he is! Nothing he could do could change my love for him.

My little Chlo-worm is only 3 months, but already she is developing a sweet personality. She loves people. Whereas Caleb preferred his independence as a baby, Chloe cries if she is awake and not being snuggled. She likes things a certain way (much like her mama). Her huge smile is enough to melt your heart. Brett gets her laughing like no one else can. She is definitely a daddy’s girl. She is such an amazing little baby, and I know in the months to come she will bless my heart with how she grows and changes.

I think about my kids all the time. They are at the forefront of my mind and in my heart. There is nothing I wouldn’t do for them. They are my treasure. Apart from Christ and Brett, there is no one i love more than them. Like I said, Brett and I lay awake every night talking about how awesome our kids are and how much we love them. We want the best for them. Though I know its inevitable, I have no interest in them ever failing, getting sick, learning lessons the hard way, etc. I do anything and everything I can to protect them (and trust God, of course!). I pray for them. They are incredible.

And think, if I, an imperfect, fallen person love my kids this much…..think how much God loves you!!!! He is the perfect Father and loves you in the most perfect way. He delights in you. His thoughts are for you; God is on your side. All day, He thinks about you and desires to let you love Him the way only He can.

As Christmas approaches and we celebrate the birth of Jesus, I am so thankful for how much God loves us. That reality never gets old to me. God is good. And all good things are from Him (which in turn means all bad things are NOT from Him).

Have a Merry Christmas. And may you delight in the One who delights in you.

P.S. I did not have the correct time zone set; I was NOT up at 3:18 am writing this.

Leave a Reply

