He Was Walking Her Home

If this song does not make you cry, then I dont know what will. I was listening to the radio when it came on. Picturing this song as my life just made me cry!!!

Mark Schultz’s: Walk Her Home

Looking back
He sees it all
It was her first date the night he came to call
Her dad said, ‘son
Have her home on time
And promise me you’ll never leave her side’
He took her to a show in town
And he was ten feet off the ground

Chorus:
He was walking her home
And holding her hand
Oh the way she smiled it stole the breath right out of him
Down that old road
With the stars up above
He remembers where he was the night he fell in love
He was walking her home

Ten more years in a waiting room
At half past one
So when the doctor said, ‘come in and meet your son’
And his knees went weak
When he saw his wife
She was smiling as she said, ‘he’s got your eyes’
And as she slept he held her tight
His mind went back to that first night

Chorus

He walked her through the best days of her life
Sixty years together and he never left her side

A nursing home
At eighty-five
And the doctor said it could be her last night
And the nurse said, ‘oh should we tell him now,
Or should we wait until the morning to find out?’
When they checked her room that night
He was laying by her side

Oh he was walking her home
Holding her hand
Oh the way she smiled when he said,
‘this is not the end’
Just for a while
They were eighteen
She was still more beautiful to him than anything
He was walking her home
He was walking her home

Looking back he sees it all
It was her first date the night he came to call

The line “She was still more beautiful to him than anything.” Oh my, the tears come. I know its a song, but what a sweet thought that Brett will hopefully think that about me when we’ve been married for 60 years!

For some reason, I have been thinking a lot lately about the first few months Brett and I started dating. We will not celebrate our anniversary for another few months, so I am unsure why I have been reminiscing about this. But, I was just thinking back (it has not been that long) to those first few weeks of dating. How I barely knew him then but I was so in love with him. I could have never dreamed where we would be in just a few short years. I would never have imagined at that time that I would know this man as deeply as I do now. I have not yet learned everything there is to know about him, yet I know so much more now than I did those first few weeks. I remember the weirdest details like the first time I saw him in a hat and where we ate breakfast before he went back home (he lived in our current home; I lived in Florida). The summer we got engaged (which was only 3 months into our relationship) was probably my most favorite summer! It was so carefree, fun, and exciting. Finances were not an issue, so we ate out a lot, went to movies, talked and talked (well, maybe Brett didnt talk as much as I did), and just enjoyed each other.

The best part is that life has only gotten better. Sure, we are busier, have children, have real life issues, but we are more in love than we ever have been. No one can make me laugh harder than Brett. No one brings me more joy. My children are wonderful and irreplaceable, but oh, my husband…..he is my best friend. I am not sure why I am so gushy right now. But I just think about the above song, and it warms my heart to think that could be me. I don’t remember specifically the day I fell in love with Brett (because it was over the course of a few weeks…..before we had ever dated). But I do remember the night that I prayed (once again, before we ever dated), “God, if I don’t marry Brett, then I don’t want to get married. There is no other guy better than him.” In my single days, I kept a journal to my future husband (cheesy, I know). I started writing “Dear Brett….” entries about 2 months before he ever gave me the time of day. I could have never have dreamed he would like me back.

I am one lucky girl.

Posted in Family. Tags: . Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

