Yes, Santa even brings underwear

Christmas was so much fun!  Like an 8 year old, I could not fall asleep on Christmas Eve.  Brett is a really good gift giver, so I was excited to see what he had given me.  Even more than that, I was excited to see how Caleb reacted to Christmas this year.  I was not disappointed on either front.

Caleb is such an awesome kid.  He unwrapped each gift…..and wanted to play with the gift as he opened it!  On Christmas Eve, I had put together his new work bench (think a wooden kid’s kitchen, but its tools and such).  We hid it, though, to give it to him last.  That was a good choice, because once he saw it, he even put down his guitar to play with it.  Caleb putting down his guitar is like me not wanting to sleep.  That relationship does not exist.  Caleb is in heaven right now with all his cool toys.  He is too little to really know the true meaning of Christmas, but he is old enough to really enjoy unwrapping toys and playing with them!

Chloe sat entertained watching Caleb.  I opened her gifts, of course.  We got her a Glo-worm, since her nickname is the Chlo-worm.  She got some clothes and a stuffed lamb for her Gigi and GP (Great Granny: GG and Great Papa).

I made a big Christmas meal for Brett, a friend, and me.  Too big, in fact, because we will be eating for about the next week!  But it was tasty.  I made homemade mac ‘n cheese, green bean casserole, stuffing, deviled eggs, and a ham.  Yummy.

And, last but not least, my wonderful husband gave me a Crate and Barrel gift card, a Target gift card, my favorite candy, and a watch.  I lost my watch recently.  My sister gave me one she had, and it was really cute…I just couldn’t tell time on it!  I did not even think to buy a new one, so I was so surprised when Brett thought about it.
I went to Crate and Barrel today to spend my gift card.  Did I spend my gift card?  No, because I cannot hang with the Boxing Day (shout out to you, Shannon) crowd!!  When I say the store was packed, that is an understatement.  I do not shop well in crowded places, so I just left!  I will wait until January to spend it.  They only had Christmas stuff on sale, and I want everyday dinnerware.  So its not like I am benefitting from the chaos!

Christmas was really fun!!  I had a great time celebrating.  And, of course, I am most thankful for the true reason for the holiday:  Jesus!!!!!

And, now, for the best story on Christmas.  My little sister celebrated her first Christmas this year!  I wish I could have been there.  My parents said that her reaction to Christmas day was better than anything they have ever seen!  So, I was talking to Lylia on the phone yesterday, asking her if she had a good Christmas.  She told me everything Santa had given her (she loved every single thing).  Then, in a whisper, she said, “Santa even brought me underwear.”  And she giggled.

Leave a Reply

