It’s Been One Week….(think Barenaked Ladies song)

A lot has happened in the pasty eight days since my last post. That is partly why I have not posted, but now I feel like there is so much to post.

I will start with Oprah. I hardly watch Oprah, but I happened to catch it last week. She had a guy on there teaching women who look frumpy how to improve. I am guilty of people a “schlumpadinka” (as Oprah put it). Because I do what moms of young kids do (change diapers, get spit up on, clean, etc.), I often resort to wearing comfy clothes that do not really look that great.
However, as of late, I have really been feeling like I could do little things to improve my overall appearance (which, as you probably know, also effects a lot of other aspects of life). I really took to heart some of the advice…..well, except that the only red trench coat I could find was like $80. I have to wait for them to go on sale. As my mom’s personal shopper, she also wants one.
Today, I decided to improve myself a bit to go to MOPS. The biggest improvement: I wore some trendy jeans that my friend gave me. I did not know how to wear them correctly (and my sister was not up to ask), so I tried to remember how my friend, Amber, would wear them. I was a bit nervous, but it worked out. I also wore a little extra make-up and fixed my hair (just a ponytail, but its a high ponytail, which supposedly looks nicer). I did few other things, but those are the main things.
I am telling you I received more compliments today than I have in a really long time (maybe three years ago…..which happens to be my wedding day….my anniversary is tomorrow! YAY!!).
Moral to the story: A few extra minutes in the morning does wonders!!!! I do not have enough cute clothes to wear something trendy and fun every day, but I am committed to only buying things (when I do buy things) that improve my wardrobe.

(That story was longer than expected)

We celebrated Caleb’s 2nd birthday this past weekend…..with my two nieces. I will post pictures soon. We went down to where my nieces and parents live. They all turn 2 within a month, so its fun to do the joint birthday party thing. It was a really quick trip: we had bad winter weather on the way down and on the way back home. No fun. I felt like it was a really rushed visit, but I had a great time.
I highlighted my hair blonde again. Its not as light as I wanted, but I guess it takes time to get back to where I want to be.
Back to the party….we had it at a gymnastics facility. It was a really great time! Caleb LOVED playing on all of the equipment. It was a junior gym, so everything was small for him. He loves life, and it was so fun watching him play and laugh.

(That story was shorter than expected)

At MOPS today, we had a wonderful speaker come talk to us about making your own household cleaning products. I have been wanting to do that for quite some time, and now I am definitely inspired!! I made some homemade baby wipes tonight. Its WAY cheaper and so much fun. I plan to use up what cleaning supplies I have now, as part of my “don’t be wasteful” way of life. It will take quite a long time, but once it is all gone, I am making my own! I have a lot of baby wipes, but I figure I will use the store bought ones when I am out of the house.

I spent the evening getting my house restored to order. We have just been so busy lately. Thankfully, none of us have been sick. I know there is some nasty flu and bugs going around, so I am thankful we are healthy (and I hope to remain that way). In addition to going out of town, Brett preached at church on Sunday in a town about an hour away. He did awesome! It was just a long (but fun) day. Everything else that has been keeping me busy has been random stuff. However, when I get busy, things just seem to fall apart on the homefront. So I needed to clean and organize a bit tonight. It was not terrible. Just not what I like my house to feel/look like.

Have a wonderful week! I will be celebrating my 3rd anniversary with my awesome husband tomorrow. The time has gone by SO fast. It does not seem like we have been married that long, yet I feel like I have known Brett my whole life.

On our wedding day…..
Photobucket

Photobucket

And Brett and I recently (I have highlights now, so it is not officially “us today”):
Photobucket
(whoa that’s really big, sorry!)

Life just keeps getting better…..

Posted in Life. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “It’s Been One Week….(think Barenaked Ladies song)”

  1. Jen Says:

    Ok, I LOVE that picture of you and Brett in the street. So cute!

    And also, I echo the comment Alison made on your last post. I love reading your blog, too, even though I don’t comment very often!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Your wedding pictures are the cutest – especially the one of you two kissing in the street. I love the coloring and the background.


Leave a Reply

