Happy Father’s Day (early!)

Father’s Day is strange, in that, it honors two different relationships in the same day.

First, the first 23 Father’s Days in my life were spent honoring one man: my dad. My dad is such a great one. If ever there were a man who cares about my happiness, it is him. I spent hours growing up talking to my dad about things going on in my life. He would counsel me, and he really helped me through a lot of rough periods of my teenage years. He always believes the best about everyone, yet he was always clear that his family were the most important people in his life. My dad has worked incredibly hard his entire life to provide the best life for me. Not only did I get to do everything I ever wanted as a child, he also put me through college and allowed me to start my own family without an ounce of debt. My dad encouraged me to be myself, even when that was not a popular choice. I have not struggled with low self-esteem because my dad believed in me and loved me unconditionally. He also told me often how beautiful I was (am). With all of that, though, I was not a spoiled brat. He demonstrated a balanced life of blessing and thankfulness. I am so thankful for the man my dad is because he raised me to be who I am. (My mom is awesome, too, by the way! But it’s Father’s Day!).

Because of my dad, I did not settle for less than God’s best for my life. I was unafraid to settle, because it took quite a man to win my heart.

But win my heart, he did. When I married Brett, I knew that he would be an amazing dad. And my thoughts have proven true over and over. I could not be more prouder of the man my children call Daddy. He is so incredible. Watching he and Caleb roughhouse and laugh together is precious. Caleb loves his Daddy so much. Brett is so interactive with him, and they have the best time together. Caleb’s favorite part of the day is when Dad comes home from work! They play football, basketball, they wrestle, draw together, and snuggle. So adorable. Brett tells Caleb how strong, brave, and handsome he is, and affirms and encourages him.
Brett is also such a wonderful dad to Chloe. He snuggles her and holds her. Chloe has her Daddy wrapped around her finger. He does anything for her. Brett tells her everyday how beautiful and sweet she is. He also reminds her that he is the only man that is allowed to kiss her until, well, a long time!
I am so thankful to have such a great dad for my children. He is the most wonderful Daddy in the world!!!!!!

Happy Father’s Day, to the dads in my life!!!!!

(On a personal note, I will be out of town for awhile, so I may not be blogging for a week or so!)

One Response to “Happy Father’s Day (early!)”

  1. Lizz @ Yes, and So Is My Heart Says:

    Sweet post.

    Have a safe trip. Maybe we can get together for a playdate when you get back.


Leave a Reply

