Golly, I really do not mean to go this long in between posts! I am not really lacking material, but for some reason, I have been so bad about blogging lately.

My children are growing up too fast. I know all parents say that, but hearing my little boy learn new words each day makes me realize the years are passing too quickly. Chloe is really mobile now. Mobile. How did that happen so fast?

I have not mentioned painting in awhile, so I shall update you. We are about 20 minutes away from being done!! There is a spot on our foyer wall that is uneven. Once we get that done, we will be DONE. There is still some touch up paint to be done, but I feel like that will be over the course of a long period, as we see things needing to be done. I will post pictures this week hopefully!! Even though it is not perfect, I love the new colors. It makes such a huge difference! My home just feels warmer. I enjoy home improvement projects, so I imagine when this one is done, I will enjoy a short hiatus before moving onto something new. I try to do improvements that require no money. Costly improvements will have to be done at a later time.

I went running last week for the first time since before having children. I jogged pretty consistently in my teens and college days, but I have not done it since getting pregnant with Caleb. I have exercised; I just have not gone jogging. I got a wild hair last Sunday and went for a jog. It was a really interesting time. I felt like I got a glimpse of who I was before becoming a mom. Though I love how my life has change, it gently reminded me how important it is to nurture myself, too. It sounds strange, but it was a turning point in my parenting. I had aspirations to totally change, which, of course, did not happen. But I have taken steps toward becoming who I aspire to be. I have eaten a lot better this week than in the past two years. In fairness, I have been pregnant and/or nursing for 37 months straight, which allowed for a fair amount of justified gluttony. However, my nursing days are coming to an end in about 2 months, so I figure my eating habits should change, too. All that to say I feel like a new person. It feels nice to recharge!!

On the opposite side of that, I have long said that I plan for Chloe and my next child to be about 2 and a 1/2 years apart. Which means I will be trying to have a baby this time next year. I am not sure I am ready to take that step. Maybe by next year, I will be ready. But I am loving my life with these two treasures…I feel like I am just now really getting into the groove of two. Currently, I do not have baby fever, but I imagine it will return when the time comes. I have not actually prayed about when to start trying to have our next child, but then again, I have never actually tried to have a child (though I have been super excited both times)….so God may choose to surprise us again.

I have been thinking about traditions I want to start in our family. And one I will start doing (probably next year) is celebrating 1/2 day on July 1. That is the halfway point of the year. Having a half day sounds like so much fun!

I rearranged the furniture in our basement last week. It has been the same for two years, which I think may be a record for me. I love the change!! I really enjoy change in general. I know a lot of people hate it, but I like to keep things fresh!

I feel like I have so much more to say, but when I sit down, I seem to forget.

Have a great week!!!

2 Responses to “”

  1. Lizz @ Yes, and So Is My Heart Says:

    I love the idea of a half day!

    You could have fooled me. I thought you were in the groove of two kids from the moment I started talking to you at MOPS.

    I’ve been running a bit too. I just need to work on my eating habits more. You’ve inspired me a bit.

  2. Haley Says:

    This post made me so happy. I really love keeping up with your life but I was so happy to read that you may actually consider taking some time for yourself- you more than deserve it!!!!

    Oh, the half day idea is CUTE! My friend, Robin, her whole family celebrates half birthdays – so yours would be – 8/8 – and the Mom bakes a half cake. It’s really really cute!


Leave a Reply

