Chicago

Airline tickets: $150
Hotel room: $88
# of shoes between 3 girls: 12
48 hours of laughter and fun: Priceless

I returned home yesterday from a three day-two night trip to Chicago with two of my friends (Melissa and Dana). As you can see by the prices, it was a pretty inexpensive trip (I mean, as compared to other vacations). We went sans children, and it was so much fun. Even though these stories may not be entertaining to anyone else, I use blogging as a form of journaling, so I like to document my experience.

The flight and drive to the hotel were uneventful. We enjoyed a delicious lunch and an afternoon of shopping. Sunday night (after Mel did all of our hair and make-up), we planned to go to a comedy club called Second City. We asked three people for directions, all who told us to take the Red Line to a certain street. Exit and go east. Not one of those three people informed us that we would be walking 45 minutes east. In high heels. (The worst part is that we took a cab home, and it was only $4 more expensive than the train ride.)
We arrived at the comedy club, sweaty and with blisters, but very excited for the show. We were seated in a row of chairs with no table. We asked to be reseated (we were early, so it was half empty). The host did not want to reseat us. Instead, he tapped on the shoulder of the person in front of us and asked if we could share their table (which was actually a table for everyone to share, but they did not agree). We were embarrassed beyond belief because we could have just asked them ourselves. (This was a lot more humiliating than it sounds). The people were rude to us the rest of the night. The show was hilarious, so it was worth it. I love comedy, and the comedians were so entertaining.

The three of us at Second City:
Photobucket

We ate dinner at Navy Pier and called it a night.

Monday morning, we slept until our bodies woke up naturally (what a treat!), but it was not near as late as I had hoped. All the same I was rested. Yay. We went shopping for awhile (I actually did not buy anything the whole trip, except food, of course) then back to Navy Pier for lunch and to walk around.

Navy Pier
Photobucket

Photobucket

I love city skylines
Photobucket

After walking around, we went back to the hotel to relax. We talked the afternoon away. That was my favorite part of the trip….just talking. We learned so much about one another!

For our evening festivities, we ate dinner at Bistro 110. We then went to the Signature Lounge at the 95th floor of the Hancock Tower. I did not actually take pictures in the lounge, because it was a chill atmosphere.
Photobucket

The Hancock Tower
Photobucket

After the lounge, we went to the bottom floor to eat dessert at the Cheesecake Factory.
Photobucket

We then went to the hotel, talked for awhile, then to bed.

Tuesday morning, our trip was ending :(. We flew home. That was the worst part of the trip….even worse than walking 45 minutes in heels. We were probably 100-200 feet from landing the plane, and we take off again. I hate to fly anyway, but this sent me over the edge. I panicked. I thought possibly the landing gear had not come down or something like that. We circled the airport for about 10 minutes before landing for real. The pilot did not say anything the entire time. When we landed, he said that there was another plane on the runway. I told my dad later on who said that that is one of the most dangerous things that can happen while flying, and that the pilot did not say anything because he had probably wet his pants. LOL. The adrenaline rush (which was not a good thing) mixed with the already turbulent flight made me so sick :(. To make matters worse, there was a severe storm the whole way home, so we had to drive so slow. I also hate storms, by the way. I have never been happier to get back in my own home!

Although the trip ended badly, it was so much fun!! Being with friends is so refreshing. I really enjoyed the time away, but I was so happy to return to these wonderful children:
Photobucket

Also, this is Caleb’s drawing. Pretty impressive for a 2 year old, I think:
Photobucket
He did it himself!

Photobucket

I am glad to be back home, but I had an awesome weekend!!!

Posted in Fun. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Chicago”

  1. lucashannon Says:

    It sounds like you had a lot of fun even if it was mixed with a couple not-so-good moments. 🙂 Glad you were able to get away…I’ve never been to Chicago except to fly through and I’d love to go there sometime.
    -s

  2. Lizz @ Yes, and So Is My Heart Says:

    Oh, I’m trying very hard not to be jealous of what looks like a really fun girls weekend.

    And, I’m super impressed at Caleb’s drawing. Ann has yet to draw anything close to that. I believe you just might have a future artist on your hands.

  3. Kirstin Says:

    How fun! I would love to do that with friends. It’s so hard to get any of them to slow down long enough though!


Leave a Reply

