Militant Mom

Today is Day 1 of Militant Mom.  

Caleb is in Day 1 of potty training.  I keep putting it off, in hopes to psych myself up.  Today, I just decided to go for it.  We’ve had one accident, but thats to be expected when going cold turkey.  For some reason, I am really on edge and very nervous.  I am not sure if its because my little guy is becoming a boy, or if the thought of potential failure looming concerns me, or if I realize my life is about to change dramatically (diapers are so easy).  Whatever it is, I am a little on edge today.  Its a gorgeous day outside, so at least I have that going for me :).  You are more than welcome to pray for me, as I think I need that.

Chloe will begin tonight in Phase 1 of having to sleep through the night.  She wakes up twice a night, which is way too often for an 11 month old.  I started the process of weaning her on Saturday.  I have cut out one feeding.  She is not thrilled, but the expectation of being done nursing is way exciting for me.  In order to totally wean her, she actually has to sleep through the night.  As much as I hate to hear my sweet Lulu cry, it’s time.  It actually was time a long time ago.  

There are a lot of changes going on in our house right now.  I am not sure what to make of it.  It is exciting, on one hand, but on the other hand, a lot of work….at least temporarily.  

I just have no clue why I cannot shake the nervousness of Caleb potty training.  I want it to be easy, and I think I am expecting the worst case scenario (which does not go in the same sentence as easy).  

For some reason, for the last few days, I have really been wanting to steam clean our carpets.  I have a steam cleaner, so last night, I whipped it out.  After spending about an hour doing it, it dawned on me that Caleb would be peeing on that very carpet very soon.  I actually had no intention to start potty training today.  In talking with my mom this morning, she spurred me on to just go for it.  I was waiting for a convenient weekend when we have no plans.  (Yeah, right).  With her encouragement, I’m going for it.  

I will keep you posted on our accidents progress.

Leave a Reply

