It’s 12:33 am

….and I am up typing a blog. Why? Because Chloe has been crying since 11:13 pm. Last night, for the first time, she did not nurse and slept until 6:45 am. That was a first for her. She dropped two feedings in one, plus she slept through the night for the first time. I was SO excited, as I am sure you could imagine. So I am a wee bit frustrated that she is still screaming after an hour and 15 minutes. Not to mention I have been up since 6:45. But, since I know she can make it…..and she has to be weaned by next week (I am leaving town), I am just biting the bullet. I know its probably heartless to let her cry, but I did check on her. And she has faded out a few times (for a few minutes before starting again). The bottom line is that she just does not need to nurse anymore. She was only nursing 2-3 minutes at a time, anyway, which constitutes unnecessary nursing, in my opinion. Plus, I am so ready to be done! She is nearing 13 months. I had wanted to stop at her birthday.

I apologize for the rant, but I have nothing else to do at midnight. Brett miraculously is sleeping through the crying/screaming. I do not want to make any noise, as to give Chloe encouragement that there may be a chance she gets to eat. She did go down to bed super easily, which I expected to be a problem. That was the easy part. I feel bad for her, but I also do not want to put my parents in a bad position to be up all night with her when they keep her next week. Brett and I are both going out of town….separately, but the same weekend. My parents will have them both for 4-5 days. Brett is going to his half brother’s wedding in South Carolina. I am going to the MOPS Convention in Dallas. I am VERY EXCITED!!! YAY!

Men, if you happen to be reading, stop now. I have some private woman stuff to talk about.

Seriously, stop. (Not sure if I have male readers). Or prepare to be grossed out (this includes you, Brett…..well, not really).
So I blogged about my bad week last week. I have to admit. It was bad. I was just not myself. I kept thinking maybe its PMS, but it lasted longer than normal PMS. Of course, being that I have only had my period 4 times in my ENTIRE marriage (I got married early 2005), I kind of forgot what PMS is like. Well, considering its been 23 months since my last bout with PMS, I would say it came back with avengance!!! Now that AF (online lingo for “Aunt Flow”, I guess) has returned, life is back to normal. Thankfully!!! I even had a flat tire today and was unbothered.

Well, it seems as if my sweet baby has faded. I am going to give it a few more minutes before going back to bed, just in case.

Does anyone know any good remedies for engorgement? All this crying certainly did not help dropping two feedings in a day!! I am in pain but do not want to pump, since that would prolong the process.

Chloe made another peep, but I think she is almost out. Let’s hope!! Tomorrow is a long day, so I probably should have waited to let her cry……oh well! I am too far into it now.

2 Responses to “It’s 12:33 am”

  1. ashlie Says:

    Funny…..It is 3:27am and I am doing the EXACT SAME THING…only we are trying to drop this one feeding (keeping the 10:00 pm feeding for now)….instead of eating at 2:00 or 3:00 he now cries…..if we don’t go to him, or he plays for 2 hours if we do go to him…..I feel your pain, blogging and interenet surfing is the only thing to keep me from staring at the monitor all night….bc you know somehow Jordan doesn’t hear any of this either….How do they do it?

  2. Kelly Bell Says:

    I didn’t personally do this because I just pumped until my milk was about gone, but I know you can put cabbage leaves in your sports bra (I know, weird). But I heard that it works. I did put a hot compress on them sometimes to ease the discomfort and that would help a little. I hope she sleeps through the night soon for you!


Leave a Reply

