Hodge Podge

It has been quite a week.

I was overwhelmed (in a good way) by the kindness of a stranger. Kindness is a core value of our family, and this week, when a stranger helped me in a time of need, I realized that it truly is very important to me. Caleb was having a crazy fit in Target, and a mom stopped to help me. There was not much she could do, but her thoughtfulness really moved me.

I thoroughly cleaned my house. I usually clean a lot before a trip, but this one has been a record setter. I love a sparkling house. Though it does not last, I enjoy it for the few minutes of bliss.

But true bliss is watching my kids love life and have a happy home. I may have nasty carpet and lots of crayon marks on the walls, but we enjoy life. I know that is most important.

I found out this week that I have to have surgery. I have a hernia, and I just have to get it repaired. God watches out for me, though, because I scheduled it with a doctor who a friend of mine works with sometimes (she’s a nurse). The surgeon is apparently horrible. I am so thankful she told me that, so I could switch to a good one! I scheduled the surgery for January, because I want God to heal me. Not that he is on a timetable, but I want to wait as long as I can! He actually has already healed the pain (it no longer hurts, YAY!), but I just need it to mend now.

The hilarious thing (to me) is that they told me I could not lift anything over 10 pounds for 6 weeks. So apparently Chloe is going to have to put herself in her crib. And in her car seat. And her high chair. And hopefully she learns to change her own diapers. Luckily Caleb can do most of that (except the diapers, but maybe I will potty train before then!). Brett is awesome and helpful, but he cannot be home 24-7. Should be interesting.

That also means I cannot rearrange furniture for 6 weeks. How will I survive?

I’m pretty sure my laundry basket weighs like 12 pounds. So I guess that is out too.

On a different note, we are leaving today (minus Brett who has to wait a few days) for our annual family hunting trip. It will be really fun. My parenting requirements will be minimal, which is always a nice break.

I am done with my Christmas shopping!!!!! I already blogged about my kids’ presents. I cannot write about Brett’s present because sometimes he reads this. He does not really care about presents, so I have to be creative. I think he will like it. Nothing can top what I got him a few Christmases ago…..a gun he had wanted. I am not sure which he thought was better: the gun or the thought of me buying it!

Christmas is easy this year. I only bought stuff for my immediate family. Everyone else will get a card. Cheap, yes. But at least I will be able to pay my credit card bill in January!

Have a wonderful week. I will be internet-less for awhile. My parents house is too far in the country to get service.

One Response to “Hodge Podge”

  1. Melissa Gillispie Says:

    Sarah- I just love reading your blogs! They are so funny, so true, and I love your openness and humor. Thanks for sharing:)


Leave a Reply

