The Mother Letter

I am not sure who it is, but there is a man who is putting together a really cool letter to his wife. I am sure you have read about it, but if not, go here to check out The Mother Letter. I think gifts like this are such treasures, so I decided to participate.

Here is my entry (I wrote it quick):

Dear Mother,

Did anyone ever tell you how amazing it is to be a mom?? Or how hard it would be? My journey as a mother has been incredible. The love I have for my children is immeasurable. The joy I feel when I think and talk about them is immense. Along with my husband, my two kids are the loves of my life. Though there are many days when I question my abilities, my love and affection never changes. It is hard to imagine what life was like before wet kisses, football tackles, siblings belly laughing together.

I wish I could say I cherish every moment and have a happy heart (that I require of my children) every day. But I don’t. I wake up grumpy. I have been thrown up on, pooped on, and peed on. I have stayed up all night. I have cried. I have yelled too loudly. I question my ability to mother my children often. I have never felt more inadequate for anything in my life.

And yet, as you know, dear mother, it is worth every moment. I would endure many more sleepless nights if it means seeing my son pray for his little sister. If it means walking into my daughter’s room and being greeted by her huge contagious smile. If it means hearing “Mommy, hug you,” from my son. If it means snuggling my baby girl. If it means my children crawling all over me while laughing. If it means understanding the love of Christ in a way I never knew before becoming a mother.

In the nearly three years of my journey as a mom, my life has been transformed. This is the best time of my life, as I imagine it is yours. One the greatest parts of the journey has been the friends I have made along the way. Ones who reassure me that we all get more frustrated than we care to admit. One who reassure me my son will eventually be potty trained. Ones who have gone before me, and ones who are beginning their journey. What a joy it is to be in this society of women that understand.

May your Christmas be blessed.

Leave a Reply

