Tis The Season

We are two minutes into December and already my children have broken 7 Christmas ornaments. Fortunately, all but two have been fixed. I did not think they would be able to reach any breakable ones, but apparently, they can. And they can also break ones that do not appear to be breakable. Childhood is an art form. People are, of course, way more important than things, so I do not mind.

Oh, and did I mention Caleb has unwrapped two of the four gifts under the tree. I bought Caleb and Chloe coordinating pj’s, and Caleb opened them both today. I dont blame him. I do not like surprises either :).

As you probably know, I print out my blogs for a keepsake. I did that tonight. Sometimes I think about giving up blogging, but when I read old blogs, I realize there are many memories I have recorded that I do not even remember. And they all happened in the last six months. For that reason, I will continue to blog. Even though I forget some of the memories, when I read about them, they are fresh in my mind. When my children are grown, I will read my blogs with fondness. Even if I bored my readers to death. Figurative death. Not literal. (Any “How I Met Your Mother” fans out there?)

Tonight, we rent to rent a movie at Red Box (which is, by the way, the greatest invention of the year). On the way, Caleb took notice of Christmas lights. Since they are practically giving away gas these days (oh, how I joke), we took a detour to look at the lights. Caleb kept saying, “Lights pretty.” So cute. Earlier he said to Brett across the room, “I love you, Daddy”. How our hearts melted.

Caleb goes to bed at 8 or 8:30 each night. I am not sure what it is, but I think he thinks the fun happens after bedtime. Almost every night, he ventures downstairs. He just wants to “play, Mommy”. Tonight, during our movie, we heard his little footsteps upstairs. When we got upstairs, Caleb had plugged in the Christmas tree for light and was playing quietly. He repeated this until about 11, when he finally went to sleep.
I have tried everything, short of deadbolting his door, to keep him in bed. The boy just will not stay in bed. He even can removed a duct taped on door holder that should prevent the ability to open his door. One day, I imagine he will outgrow this.

Oh, he also does this during naps. (Some may say he is ready to give up his nap. I assure you, he is not.) Today, I wanted to sleep too, so I just put him in bed with me. Typically, he will not actually sleep with me. But today he did. I definitely enjoyed snuggling my little boy.

Well, I need to go to bed……can someone please tell me where November went??

2 Responses to “Tis The Season”

  1. Michele Says:

    I had to laugh at your kids’ breaking the ornaments b/c as we were decorating our tree I said “Be careful!” a million times. My girls didn’t break a single ornament but I dropped one of our favorite ones and it shattered in a million pieces. Go figure.

  2. Lizz @ Yes, and So Is My Heart Says:

    No, no, no. Don’t stop blogging!

    G does the same thing about getting up. We finally had to make it impossible for him to get out of his door. No fun, but it did the trick and he seems relieved that he can’t get out and just has to go to sleep.


Leave a Reply

