What I Did On My Christmas Vacation

We just returned from the most beautiful place on earth: Whistler, British Columbia (Canada). For our Christmas presents, my parents blessed us with plane tickets to join them for their vacation. My parents own a home on the mountain, and with the exception of the last four years, I have gone there every year (sometimes a few times a yeary) since 1996.

This was the first time Brett and our kids have ever been to Whistler (or to real mountains).

It was awesome!!

The plane flight takes a really long time, so that was a bit of a downer. And Caleb got a bad stomach bug and puked a lot. Chloe puked once. (The irony is that this is the first puking bug either of them have ever had). Other than that, our vacation was better than we imagined.

Brett and I went snow shoeing…..
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
(look he’s touching the mountaintop)

Photobucket

He went another time, as well, but forgot the camera. He walked across a frozen lake that was surrounded by trees. So cool.

We also went sightseeing….
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And rode the (I think) world’s largest Peak 2 Peak Gondola. Which was spectacular. There were about 12-15 in there with us, so I could not get as good of pictures as I hoped. Not that any pictures do this place justice, but it was so cool…..
Photobucket

Photobucket
You cannot tell how high we are, but trust me, its high. See the little river?

Photobucket

We had to ride the ski lift to get to it…
Photobucket

The view from the top was spectacular….
Photobucket

Photobucket

There was an arctic blast, so it was very cold outside. That mixed with illness, our kids did not get to do much. They had a blast playing with their cousin and aunt, though! So all was not lost.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Brotherly love
Photobucket

Hanging with dad….
Photobucket

Caleb seemed to grow up so much on the trip. He pulled his suitcase through the airport, which was probably one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen….
Photobucket

Brett and I were really nervous for the flight. Though it was long, our kids did much better than I expected. Thank you to those who prayed for us!

Before we left for vacation, Chloe got her first haircut. It was just a trim in the back. I have heard horror stories of haircuts, so I decided to leave the front alone. She did quite well for her first haircut.
Photobucket

After (though it only looked different in back)
Photobucket

And there you have it. A photo blog of our Christmas adventure.

We have a tradition to be home on Christmas, so we flew in the 23rd. I got groceries today. We are recharging. Tonight, we will open pj’s and bake cookies. Tomorrow will be so fun. Caleb is already guessing what his presents are, so he will be thrilled. Chloe will enjoy doing whatever he’s doing! We are going to have a birthday party for Jesus (after our big breakfast and opening presents). And we are starting a new tradition of eating Mexican for dinner. I do not like the traditional meal. Once a year at Thanksgiving is enough for me, so I am switching it up.

Have an awesome Christmas!!!!!!!

2 Responses to “What I Did On My Christmas Vacation”

  1. ashlie Says:

    I wonder if they had altitude sickness….me and all my siblings used to get it everytime we went to the mountains (which was every year) until I was a senior in highschool….looks like you guys had a blast. How fun!!!

  2. Kelley Says:

    love these pictures! what fun traditions!! Your blog makes me want kids- don’t tell Ty yet though 🙂


Leave a Reply

