It Was A Happy Birthday!

I turned 27 on Sunday. To say I had an incredible birthday would be a huge understatement. I had a blast!

To start, on Saturday, Brett stayed home with the kids while I went shopping. I had some things to exchange, and it was fun being alone while shopping.

Sunday was my actual birthday. We went to church, of course. I received cards and some super cute gifts. Afterward, we hung out together for the afternoon. Then, Brett took me on a date to McCormick and Schmick’s. We had the best dessert ever. It was delicious!! I loved reconnecting and hanging out together.
He also got me a fabulous gift. I told him about the journal I wanted to write, so he got me a really nice journal. I love it. I have started writing our spiritual history, and it has been fun thinking back to all of the cool things God has done in our lives.
Brett also got me a “Book of Questions for Couples”. I love playing the question game, where we ask each other questions. So he got a book to make it easier when we’re too tired to think :).
And he got me a chocolate bar. Yummy.

It was wonderful to celebrate my birthday with my family, then with my sweet husband.

But it was not over yet…..

I went out last night with my friends. We went to eat Mexican food, which is delicious of course. Then, we went to see “He’s Just Not That Into You”. The movie was cute….not great but good. I enjoyed it; there were just some depressing parts. And a lot of painful parts!
My friends know that gifts are my love language, and let’s just say my love tank is full. I received so many thoughtful gifts….including a tribute shirt to my favorite show “How I Met Your Mother” (which is awesome), bath products (that smell yummy), a nail kit that i mentioned wanting like 3 years ago (what a great memory!), a fabulous bracelet (my friend, Lizz, knows I am improving my wardrobe…I needed some new accessories, so this was perfect), and a Victoria’s Secret gift card to use for my upcoming anniversary (Is that TMI? LOL!). How thoughtful is that? I am so thankful for friends who bless me beyond measure.

My birthday was fabulous, and I am so thankful for a wonderful husband and great friends. I was actually really overwhelmed with thankfulness for how God has blessed me. Four years ago when I moved here, I would cry often because I missed my friends so much. Though I still adore my friends from college and miss them terribly, so much has changed in 4 years. I have awesome friends now, who are great every day and especially spoil me on my birthday. More than that, I am thankful for their friendship!

I wonder if the day will come when I do not like my birthday? For now, it is so fun to celebrate and indulge. Thank you, to my fabulous friends.

3 Responses to “It Was A Happy Birthday!”

  1. Ashlie Says:

    Happy birthday a day late! I must say I have that book of questions and we always take it on vacation with us…which is usually a cruise. We ask each other the questions while laying out…it’s fun! So glad you had a good birthday!

  2. Kelley Says:

    What a fun and memorable 27th birthday!! Happy happy Birthday!

    I know what you mean about moving somewhere new and making new friends and how suddenly, without realizing, your new friends really are quite dear… what a great thing!!

    Oh- and for the record, I don’t think birthdays will ever get old or no fun! As long as you dont’ care that you’re getting older, which hey- just Praise the Lord that we’re getting another year of life- and then there’s nothing to be sad about! so – Yeah for birthdays!!

  3. Lizz @ Yes, and So Is My Heart Says:

    I’m glad you had so much fun! I did too!


Leave a Reply

