A Weekend To Remember

Disclaimer: I am writing this as a keepsake. It will be lengthy, with way too much information, and some information may seem like bragging but it is to capture the moment.

As I alluded to a few weeks back, I had a really fun weekend celebration planned for our 4 year anniversary. This is the first anniversary that I am not either pregnant or nursing…and it may be the last for awhile….so I wanted to make it count. Brett knew we were going on a date for dinner, but the rest of the weekend was an absolute surprise.

I have spent about a month preparing for this weekend. My friend, Kristina, helped me a tremendous amount to come up with fun activities. Instead of going away for the weekend, I planned a “stay-cation”. I thought it would be way more fun and less expensive to stay at home and vacation in our own city. There is so much in our area that we never do. Hotels kind of gross me out, and we never sleep well away from home. Plus, it would have been harder to pull off a surprise if packing was involved.

Thursday, Brett went to work. I had planted a box full of yummy candy with a card in his truck. My friend, Brooke, was in on this. She went to a meeting he was at, got the present out of the car, and handed it to Brett. The note basically said that there were more surprises in store for the weekend. He thought that the candy was the big surprise, so he definitely was blown away by the actual surprise.

Upon arriving home, Brett found the house empty. I was meeting my mom to drop off our kids for the weekend. There was a note to greet him, which was a clue that led him to another note, which led him to another note. I provided the information for the weekend, as well as the announcement that our children were gone until Sunday. I wrote it in poem form, to make it cuter.

Our first destination was the Nelson-Atkins Art Museum in Kansas City. Brett has been getting more into the creative arts, so I thought it would be fun to check it out. The museum was spectacular. The building alone was gorgeous, and the art was really cool, as well. Brett particularly liked the ancient Egyptian pieces.

After the museum, we went to dinner at Fogo De Chao. OH MY, it was delicious. It is basically an all-you-can-eat meal of quality meats and sides. Yummy yummy. I chose this restaurant because Brett ate there about 6 years ago in Atlanta and still talks about how good it is. It did not disappoint.

We left the restaurant to return home. Upon returning home, I made some excuse for Brett to go upstairs. Before leaving, while “drying my hair”, I decorated our room with rose petals and flameless candles. I wanted to give it a honeymoon feel, and Brett was surprised that I had done it.

For the rest of the evening, we relaxed and caught up on American Idol….without having to watch the baby monitor.

Today had the theme “What We Like To Watch on Television”. I made a DVD of video clues, but we actually watched it last night because Brett was too excited to wait until today. And I was also too excited to not tell him. I have barely slept for a week, so I knew I would actually sleep well if he knew.

We started the day at the Harley Davidson Factory, where we toured the factory. We are not motorcycle people, but it was really fun to see the production line. This destination represented the show “How Things Are Made”, which we enjoy watching. The robotic machines are really neat.

Our second stop for the day was thwarted. One time, Brett was watching the show “Man vs. Food” and commented how he would enjoy doing a food challenge. There is a place in KC that has a burrito food challenge. Brett was still full from the night before, so he opted out of the challenge. But he was excited that I had thought of it.

We came home for the afternoon for a nice nap. Most naps end with my kids waking me up, so it was great to sleep until I needed to get up.

This evening, we went to Comedy City for an improv show. It was hilarious. We had a great time laughing. This stop represented Comedy Central. We love to laugh together!

Tomorrow is another fun day, but a bit more relaxing. We will sleep in (woo hoo…I love to sleep in!) then go out for breakfast. After that, we have an appointment at a ministry place for a time of encouragement. It is really cool, so I am excited.

The rest of the day will be spent hanging out and enjoying our last of our stay-cation. By Sunday, we will definitely be ready to see our children. We will be refreshed and connected, and I will be ready to be a good mom again. My kids have actually had such a good week leading up to this that I was not ready for them to be gone. But getting a break is truly refreshing. I am amazed how clean my house is…..and I have not cleaned since Thursday!!

Caleb and Chloe are doing great with their Mimi and Papa. They are loving it. Chloe woke up in the middle of the night, and my dad got her. Chloe snuggled my dad for a long time, and my mom said that she stole his heart. So sweet. It seems as if they have not skipped a beat, which shows how awesome my parents are.

The weekend is not over yet, but it has been a fabulous weekend. I have loved every minute of spending time with Brett. He is amazing, and I am having the best time focusing on him. Marriage is so important to both of us. My favorite part of the weekend has been his excitement about all of the activities. It meant a lot to him that I would take the time to plan everything. I spent a considerable amount of time making the clues, typing directions to our destinations, etc. That really blessed him. Blessing him is what this weekend was about, and it was a success.

I had so many people praying for me, and God totally put all of the pieces into place. My friend said that she felt like God told her it would be a care free weekend for us, and that has so been true.

I love celebrating marriage. And it has been the best celebration!! I love being in love with my man!!

2 Responses to “A Weekend To Remember”

  1. Shannon Says:

    What a great stay-cation! You are so creative and it sounds like you had tons of fun just the two of you!

  2. Zae Says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Renegade ClickBank Affiliate Banks $127,783 In 30 Days With New Google Software …


Leave a Reply

