The Point At Which I Weep And Wail

Today my son turns 3. It is his golden birthday (3 on the 3rd). It is a shame he must pass this remarkable day so early in life, but I am sure he will be fine.

I, however, may not be fine. My boy is three. He talks. He has a memory. He can remember things that happened months ago. Yet at the same time, in the future, he will have very little memory of these days that I cherish so deeply. Caleb likes to have his hair spiked and told me yesterday he would rather go home with Ms. Melissa. (She has the cutest, sweetest daughters; I do not blame him). I am pretty sure he does not classify as my baby anymore.

And I do not think I am ok with that. Sure, I love to watch him grow and change. But could it just slow down a bit?

We actually celebrated his birthday yesterday. Brett works a really long day on Tuesdays, so I thought it would be more special yesterday. Caleb opened his toys after his nap. And he loved them so much that he did not want to go to Chuck E. Cheese or out for ice cream. Imagine his surprise when he woke up today to find that TODAY is actually his birthday. He has been saying, “Happy birthday to me. It’s my birthday!”

Caleb seems to love his birthday as much as his mama. What is normal at three is not as normal at twenty-seven, but whatever.

Thank you for enduring my sadness about a truly joyous occasion. I am not truly weeping and wailing. I have not cried. This is just such a bittersweet occasion……excitement that I have a healthy, vibrant, lovely son…..and sadness that the time passes too quickly.

I suppose this is why the Duggars have 18 children…..

2 Responses to “The Point At Which I Weep And Wail”

  1. Kelly Bell Says:

    Happy birthday Caleb!! I hope you have a wonderful day together!!

  2. Lizz @ Yes, and So Is My Heart Says:

    I know just how you feel. I’m already kind of dreading my oldest’s fifth birthday in Nov. How can that be possible?

    Hope you guys had fun today too!


Leave a Reply

