Feeling So Behind Yet So Caught Up

I am not sure why I used to be so on top of blogging, but now I am sparse.  I still enjoy reading blogs.  Anyway, maybe this is just a sign of things to come.  Or maybe I am just pregnant and tired.

Life has been great around here.

About a week ago, we found out we’re expecting a BOY!!  I am SOO excited!  Just yesterday, I washed all our infant baby boy clothes.  It was really fun getting those back out and remembering Caleb’s first few months.  So sweet.

We celebrated Chloe’s 2nd birthday last week.  I just cannot believe she is already 2.  I love watching her grow up, but I just wish time would slow down.  She talks so well now, and she sings all the time.  So precious!  Last night was her first night in her big girl bed.  She has a queen size bed, and my little girl looks even smaller in the big bed.  She slept there all night without any problems.  (I had a mild sense of sadness when I realized that it was the first night in 3.5 years that our nursery would be empty.  I coped by realizing it will have a resident in about four months.)

Chloe has such a cute personality.  She makes me smile a lot.  When its time for baths (or something else she enjoys), she’ll smile, nod her head, and say, “Bath? Bath?”  (I know you cannot picture it, but in a few years, I want to remember that about her when I read this.)

Caleb recently turned 3 and a half.  And it has been really cool seeing him grow.  He is growing too fast, too.  In recent weeks, he has become even more of a comedian.  He loves to make people laugh, and he is good at thinking of funny things.

Caleb is also starting to ask some life questions.  A few days ago, we were in the car, driving to my parents’ house.  He was asking why some boys are mean and some are nice.  He concluded, “It hurts Jesus’ heart when boys are mean.”   There were a few other big life questions (for a 3 year old) that he was asking, but my memory fails me.

Even as young kids, my children love Jesus (in a childlike way, of course).  They love to sing to Him and pray.  It’s quite precious.
A few nights ago, Caleb’s prayer made me smile:
“Jesus, thank you for Lego’s and presents.”
Hoping he would go a bit deeper, I asked, “Can you pray for something else?”
To which he replied, “Jesus, thank you for more Lego’s and presents.”

God is so good to us!

3 Responses to “Feeling So Behind Yet So Caught Up”

  1. lucashannon Says:

    Those are such great memories to remember. 🙂 And if you haven’t noticed I’ve also been a little more lazy in the blogging area so lets blame it on pregnancy. 🙂

  2. mc Says:

    They are seriously so cute. I cannot believe Chloe is sleeping in her own bed. Well, I can, but I can’t.

    I love that Caleb has the lego love.

  3. Lizz @ Yes, and So Is My Heart Says:

    Love it! G prayed for chopsticks tonight.


Leave a Reply

