Yo! Yo! Yo!

Not quite sure what that means, but I am really tired, so this is sure to be interesting.  It is 9:39 pm.  I typically stay up until about midnight, but the last few days, I have not even made it to 11.  I know I am growing another human being, but I feel extra tired lately.  Weird.

I started reading Twilight.  I am enjoying it fine, but I am not having trouble putting it down, either.  Most people warned me they read it in a day or two.  Given my reading past, that amounts to about 2 weeks for me.  So, by those standards, I am moving right along.

Pink eye is making its way around our family.  Chloe got it last week.  I actually did not know what pink eye was.  My dad diagnosed her.  OVER THE PHONE.  Imagine that call to the pediatrician: “Yes, I need to make an appointment.  My daughter has pink eye.  Well, actually, I am not sure if she has pink eye.  My dad just says she does.”  They asked me to call back when Chloe woke up from her nap for a proper diagnosis.

Well, she woke up from her nap.  With both of her eyes glued shut.  Yes, pretty sure that’s pink eye.  (To be honest, she enjoyed the gluing of the eyes shut a little more than one should.  Even once she physically could open her eyes, she chose to keep them shut.  For fun?)

Thankfully for modern day medicine, we nipped that in the bud rather quickly.

And we were in the clear.

Until I was at the pediatrician’s office today for Chloe’s 2 year check up.  I happened to glance at Caleb.  Who had a noticeably pink eye.  Another conversation that will seal my nomination for Mother Of The Year: “Doc, I know I am here for Chloe.  And it specifically states in your pediatrician by-laws that I am not supposed to ask about my other child.  But could you confirm my diagnosis?”  He kindly did.  And contrary to the Hippocratic oath, he said I could use the same eye drops for Caleb.

Speaking of pink eye (not that the subject has changed in the last 14 paragraphs), for the next 4-5 days following Chloe’s eyes glued shut episode, every time she woke up from a nap/sleeping, Caleb would gleefully exclaim, “Mommy, Chloe can see!”

*************** (insert cool segue here)*****************

I have some serious-ish topics floating around my head to potentially post, but for some reason, I cannot get the energy to do so.

My kids have also been really funny lately, but their humorous antics escape me at the moment.  I will say we are in that phase of parenting where you have to turn away and laugh.  A lot.  Sometimes, just to keep things lighthearted around here, I laugh in their presence.  I am not laughing AT them.  Laughing with them at things that they should not realize are funny.  But they are.  And sometimes, I just have to laugh.  When Brett and I talk at night before bed, we have a really good laugh on their behalf.

Oh, one funny thing lately: Caleb somehow learned my maiden name is Corbett.  So I will ask him his name, and he will say, “I am Ca-bub (that’s how he says it) Corbett.  You are Mommy Corbett.”  He learned his own last name like 2 weeks ago, so I have no idea where he picked up my maiden name.  I mean, I have 4 siblings and 2 parents with that name, but it’s not like we refer to it.

We have unofficially named our baby boy Luke Weston Williams.  It is not 100% certain, but we are like 90% sure.  After finding out we’re having a boy, Brett and I were throwing around names (we had it narrowed down to 2-3); Luke being our top choice (but Caleb did not know that).  The next day, my mom asked Caleb, “Are you going to have a baby brother or sister?”  He replied, “A baby brother.  And his name is Luke.”  So, I guess Caleb named his brother.  We all refer to him as Luke, so I imagine it will stick.

Caleb asks me cute questions all the time….
“Mommy, when Luke is older, will he play Star Wars Lego’s with me?”
“Mommy, when Luke is older, I am going to sleep on the mountain (aka, top bunk) and he is going to sleep on the bottom bed.  Ok?”
“Mommy, if I hit your belly, it will hurt Luke, right?”

He also likes to trick “Luke” by saying, “Hi, Luke.  I’m Chloe.”
Chloe LOVES to talk to the “Baby Luke” (that’s what she calls him).  She asks often to “talk to baby”.
She is also obsessed with babies.  Everywhere we go, she spots babies from afar.  It’s precious.  My little mama.

And last story.  Apparently my memory came back LOL.
Caleb learned the word, “Babe-a” (I am not sure how to spell it, but the endearing word for baby).
He tells me often, “Chloe is your baby.  I am your babe-a!”
How sweet!!!

Well, I think I may head to bed.  I am exhausted.  Brett and I have a big weekend ahead of us!!  I will explain later 🙂

2 Responses to “Yo! Yo! Yo!”

  1. mc Says:

    So cute. I can picture them doing these things. My niece and nephew are adorable.

    You do know Luke is Skyewalker right? It’s perfect. I think you should go with Luke Walker Williams. 🙂

    Waiting to hear about the weekend…

  2. Lizz @ Yes, and So Is My Heart Says:

    I loved this post!

    Love the name Luke. Graham came very close to being Luke. We changed our minds right after he was born!


Leave a Reply

