Another Random List

I am stealing these from The Lid.  I just think its fun to think of random things.  You can do one, too!  Because I also like to read random things.

1. On an average, how often do you splurge and buy something for yourself?

I do enjoy new things for myself.  I am blessed with a wonderful mom who knows my love for shopping is not necessarily in my budget, so most of my splurges are on her behalf.  Every once in awhile, I do splurge on myself.  For instance, I bought a really cute diaper bag yesterday.  My sister justified my need for it.  Which she cleared up as, “Not a life or death need.  But a ‘I’m pregnant and want to buy cute stuff’ need.”  My sister and I are about as opposite as they come, but we do share a love for all things cute and purse-ish.
2. Are you more like Hall or Oates? Just kidding. Real question: What is the last creative project you began/finished? Feel free to post a pic of it.

See a few posts ago.  My kids’ Halloween bags.  I also have Luke’s nursery pretty much ready to go.


3. OK, Goldie Locks, do you consider your house too big, too little or juuuust right?

Just right.  I definitely would not want any bigger (unless a maid came with it).


4. What is your favorite outdoor chore?

I LOVE to mow the lawn.

5. If you knew that cigarette smoking was not bad for your health but would be a weight loss tool, would you use it? Why or why not?

This will probably surprise you, but I probably would smoke.  Even if it did not cause me to lose weight.  Second hand smoke totally grosses me out, but for some reason, actually smoking does not.  The health concerns are obviously enough not to do it, though.

6. On a road trip, would you rather drive or ride?

I would PREFER to ride.  But my issues with motion sickness make it so I mostly have to drive.  When we travel far, I can ride with Brett (and only Brett) if we are on interstates.  We do not road trip often, though.

7. What do you consider a trivial pursuit?

Worry.  I am not a huge worrier, but I do have weird, irrational worries.  My weird worry right now is that our next child (the one in the womb) will be way more difficult than our other two.  When I shared this with my husband, he said, “You know, I am really concerned about this purple ear disease.  I wonder if my ears will turn purple this year, and if my friends will make fun of me. (He went on about this disease).”  Point well taken.  Worry solves nothing.  And changes nothing.  And, for the record, I do know my child will be just as awesome as the previous two.  The thing about worry is that its not reality.

8. From Linda: This weekend, we downloaded the movie “Duplicity” with Julia Roberts and Clive Owen. Within 5 minutes, I was bored and annoyed, but I kept watching 5-10 minutes at a time hoping it would get better between small chores. I finally gave up and Jorge watched it alone, and then regretted wasting that time because he disliked it intensely, too. So … how long do you watch a movie or read a book before giving up on it?

I am currently in this dilemma with “Twilight”.  I am pretty far into it, but I just am not that interested in it.  I am debating whether or not to finish it.  I may just opt for the movie.

9. Is there a song that you really love but are embarrassed to admit because it’s not cool or it’s racy or because it’s by Hall and Oates?

There are a few raps songs (circa 1998) that I really like, but they are actually probably cooler than the music I actually do listen to.  When I mentioned how that one commercial with the Cat Stevens’ song brought back so many memories, Brett laughed at me.  So maybe I should be embarrassed about that.

10. On a scale of 1-10 (10 = extremely) how spontaneous are you?

I would say about a 5.  I live life pretty routinely, in general.  But I enjoy change and new things.  While I am not fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants, I do not mind a little fun and flexibility in life.  (My sister would probably say about a 2, so maybe I am just deceived).



11. Are you a food and/or beverage snob?

Ish.  I would prefer to eat sushi every day, which is quite an expensive habit.  And I do like good food.  But I also ate at Chick Fil A twice in two days this week.  Which I guess is a fast food snob?  As far as beverages, I do think Diet Coke is the best soft drink.  And Diet Pepsi is just disgusting.  And I like Diet Coke a certain way (lots of ice).  So I am mildly snobby, but I am willing to settle if its not ideal.


12. Who/What are you trying to control in your life?

Pretty much parenting.  I know God is in control, and I know that He knows best.  But for some reason, I like the sense that I am in control.  I mean, I do not prefer to be in control above Him.  But (see #7) I worry about things beyond my control.

Leave a Reply

