(I Never Know What To Title Things)

As I type this post, Chloe is rocking her baby doll, singing (in the cutest voice ever), “You go to bed.  You go to bed.”  I was into babies as a little girl, so I love seeing her love her babies!!  She rocks them, changes their diapers, and gives them to Grandma (me) to hold when they are crying.  Sometimes they do not listen to her, so they get spankings.  Which just makes me laugh.  Because if you know their mama (Chloe), you know listening is not her best attribute!  She has a lot of great qualities, but obedience does not rank high!  She is just so sweet, though, that even her disobedience is cute.

Caleb and Chloe were talking in the car a few days ago, and I heard the following:
Chloe: “I want to play football.”
Caleb: “Girls don’t play football; they cheer.”

When Caleb and Brett play football, Caleb always asks me to cheer for him.

I finally figured out how I am going to decorate Chloe’s bedroom.  I found the CUTEST bedding at Target.  It is pink princess with diamonds.  Today, Chloe woke up and declared, “I am Princess Darby (Barbie)!”  Needless to say, she loves her new bedding!
I am going to decorate with pink and light green.  That was not my original plan, but as I look around, that is really in right now, so it is easy to find cheap decor!

I had an OB appointment earlier in the week.  I have not been in six weeks (oops) because I had to cancel an appointment (and then my next one was just two weeks after, so I waited instead of rescheduling).
Brett and I joke that all my weight gain is just my baby.  He reassures me that it is not my fault that I am carrying a 50 pound baby.  Yes, you read that right: I have gained 50 pounds.  My OB is so sweet.  She seriously is the tiniest woman I know and cannot weigh more than 90 pounds.  When I was complaining about my weight gain, she kept rationalizing why it is ok.  She thinks my shoes weigh at least 5 pounds.  And my clothes probably weigh another 5.  So, really, I have not gained much at all.  My thighs, face, and arms would say otherwise.  But I will keep lying to myself.

On that note, I am counting the days until my sweet baby arrives.  I am SO excited.  It will be just a few weeks after Christmas, and wow, Christmas is almost here!!
I always wondered why very few people have their Christmas shopping done by now.  I was done like a month ago.  Then I realized that I only buy for my little family of 4 (excluding myself, so 3 actually) and my little sister.  My siblings and I have decided to just buy for our own kids (we all have different taste in toys).  All of us are on a fairly limited budget (and try not to give into consumerism), so it works well.  And no one ends up with junk.  Brett’s family has been cutting back on giving, but my kids get stuff from all of their grandparents (both sides) and great grandparents.  I was the first on Brett’s side to take a stand and not buy for everyone, but we just do not have the ability to do so.  I am sure they were not on board with it at first, but in recent years, they have all cut back…..so I guess I started a good trend.  They are all just so sweet and giving.  I love to give, but I prefer to give to those who have very little.
Back to my point: when you only buy for a few people, it is way easier!  So that is how I get done so fast :).

I am in a major simplifying mode right now.  I am going through all of our storage, closets, and drawers getting rid of anything that feels excessive.  My favorite time of the week is dropping off a bag at the thrift store.  If I think an item is useful to a friend, that is my first option….but I do not want  to junk up other’s lives.  This made buying for Christmas hard this year, but I was intentional.

Well, I may or may not be back before Christmas!  If not, have an awesome, wonderful, sweet Christmas!!!!!!

See you in 2010 (but probably before).

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog.  I am not the best writer, but I do enjoy sharing my life with my friends!!

One Response to “(I Never Know What To Title Things)”

  1. Daneen Says:

    and I enjoy reading it!!!


Leave a Reply

