Oh, yeah, I once kept a blog….

I have no idea why I used to update my blog every day, and now I am very sparse.  I could blame having three children, but I find time for much less important things….so that is not necessarily a good excuse (though it does contribute).  My kids are actually funnier than ever, so I really need to record more of what they say.  Blogging is the only memory I have of the last 4 years.  I have been in a perpetual child-induced fog.  I am sort of joking.  But I honestly used to have a really good memory; I never forgot anything.  Now, I struggle to remember everything.  I guess that is where blogging is beneficial :).

Anyway, life with three has been awesome, so far.  Luke is still a dream baby.  There are a few nights where he decides to stay up for like an hour at like 3 am.  Other than those few occasions, he is amazingly easy and is adjusting quite well to our family.  I have been keeping him up more during the day, which seems to help the nighttime issue.

Caleb and Chloe have adjusted much better to his being here.  At one point, Chloe asked, “When is Luke going to his home?”  When I asked where he lived, she replied, “Far, far away.”  In reality, though, she treats Luke great.  She just did not care for me for a few weeks, but that is getting much better.
Brett and I have made an intentional effort to give Caleb and Chloe one-on-one time, and that helps tremendously.
Caleb is so sweet.  He often wants to lay by Luke or hold him.  Then, he will say things like, “I sure like Luke,” or “Luke sure is cute.”  (Caleb uses “sure” a lot, which is cute!)
Caleb has also told me on two different occasions, “I have a lot of milk in my tummy, so can I feed Luke this time?”  The second time he actually specified that he had chocolate and white milk, so he was really full of milk.  (I did not use that opportunity to tell him where milk actually comes from, which actually is really fascinating that our bodies can produce milk on command, basically).

Chloe treats Luke like one of her baby dolls.  She tries to undress him and change his diaper, which he, surprisingly, is not a huge fan of.  She also likes to put her baby dolls in his car seat and swing.  (Let’s not mention the amount of diapers and wipes she wastes changing her dolls’ diapers!).

I am really happy with how my little family of 5 is doing.  I am still really tired most of the time, but it is just typical newborn tired.  Brett has been the most amazing dad and husband….and has done so much to ease my load.  I feel like all I do is take care of Luke (except when he’s at work, of course), while he takes care of the big kids.

Which, by the way, my kids seem HUGE compared to Luke.  Especially Chloe.  She is in that phase where she is chunking up before she grows in height.  She is just precious, and I love her little chunkiness (which is hardly chunky…just thicker than her normal skinny self).  Caleb will be 4 in a few weeks, and I can hardly figure out how that happened so fast.

I am really enjoying not being pregnant.  I never realize how miserable pregnancy is until after I am done.  Fortunately, awesome kids come as a result, so it is totally worth it.  But the thought of doing it again in 2-3 years is so unappealing (except for the end result!).  We plan to stop at 4 kids, so at least we are 3/4 of the way done.

Life is good.  Tiring but good.  My c-section recovery is going quite well, but I am not enjoying “taking it easy”.  But, if I don’t then I regret it later.  I am excited to be able to be 100% again.  That may be awhile, because as long as I have to wake up a lot during the night, I am not 100%, unfortunately.

God is so good.  We are loving life and excited to see all of our kids continue to grow and change.
Caleb is in the “why” phase.  He follows everything with “Why?” (even if he asks a question and I say ok, he still asks, “why?”).  I actually do not mind it much because I love to see how much he is developing.  He has a huge imagination and is starting to play make-believe.  I love watching him play with his guys….talking to them and using his imagination!
One neat attribute about Caleb is that he has the best memory.  He can recognize (by name) places that he has only been once or twice in his life (which could have been like 6 months ago).  It is crazy how visually aware he is!

Chloe is in the wonderful 2 year old phase (which I actually prefer to the 3’s).  She is so cute but boy, she is feisty.  Obedience is not her top priority.  She is so sweet, though, and in her own little world.  At home, she runs everywhere.  But out in public, she walks slowly and enjoys the scenery.  Chloe loves to pray and worship the Lord.  She is all that is girl–she loves make-up, doing her hair, and changing clothes during the day!  I love seeing her girliness come out….except in the form of screaming, which she does often.

At mealtimes, we always pray.  Caleb and Chloe each pray.  Caleb always says, “Dear God, thank you for our food.  Oh, man (instead of Amen).”  BUT, sometimes he tricks us and says, “Amen.”  To which he follows up with, “We are back to Amen.”  Then, a few days later, we will go back to “oh, man!”  You just never know :).  Chloe will pray silently then declare either, “Amen or Oh, man,” depending on which one we are on that day!  I find it very amusing and it makes me laugh every time!!

Well, Luke needs to eat.  Have a great day!!!

3 Responses to “Oh, yeah, I once kept a blog….”

  1. lucashannon Says:

    Good to hear a quick update. I was beginning to wonder. 🙂

  2. jordashblack Says:

    So good to hear how things are going. I’ve missed reading about your family 🙂

  3. Lizz @ Yes, and So is my Heart Says:

    Always loves your posts. So happy you guys are all still doing so well!

    I used to be the same way with my memory. I think part of it is that now there is so much I want to remember, it is impossible to remember it all! Your kids are soooo cute!


Leave a Reply

