Extra Grace

For the last 5 years of married life, my life has been relatively easy.  Sure, there have been some bumps, but nothing unmanageable.  In different ministries I am a part of, there is a common theme of extending extra grace to people (especially moms).  When thinking about people going through a tough time (job loss, marital difficulty, faith testers, etc), I often think to myself, “She’s going through a really hard time, so it is important to be extra gracious in those situations.”  I love that I have been able to give of myself, my time, and money to help out others.

Recently, I have found myself in a season of being that woman that I speak of:  in a time of needing extra grace.  (There is nothing wrong with that, but I am just not used to it).

My family and I are experiencing a lot of changes right now.  Though I like change, this has been a little more than I prefer.

Since January, we have or will….

– added a 5th member to our family
– have a newborn, a toddler, and a pre-schooler (no wonder I get so many weird looks)
– to sell our house (with a newborn, toddler, and pre-schooler)
– to buy a home….from halfway across the country
– to move halfway across the country
– leave all of our friends, my family, and all that has been familiar in our 5 years of marriage
– change jobs
– raise extra ministry support to balance out the cost of living

That is just a short list.

My entire life is in limbo.  A must-keep-my-house-perfect limbo.  (As much as I enjoy a clean home, I do not actually like keeping it that way all the time).

I am overwhelmed.

And in need of extra grace.

I forget things often (for example, I killed my neighbor’s plant because I forgot to water it).  I am trying my best in ministry roles, but I am not on my A-game (which frustrates me).  I am excited for what is to come but so sad for all I am leaving behind.  Anytime I confide in my friends, I just get more sad because I realize those friends will be very far away.

I know that the end will be sweeter than I could ever imagine.  Because I love and follow a God who promises that.

I know once we move and are settled in our new home, we will begin a new chapter of our lives.  I will sleep well again.  I will make new friends and new memories.  Shoot, I may even have to teach my kids to swim in our (hopefully) pool!  I will be able to leave my house in the morning without having to make it look near perfect.

But we are in limbo.  And limbo is hard.

I am so thankful to my friends who have extended that extra grace and understand that “life is hard for her right now; it is important to be gracious.”   For friends who invite me over and make me lunch.

Things are hard right now.  But thankfully hard comes in seasons (let’s just hope this season is a North Dakota summer, and not this Kansas winter!).

4 Responses to “Extra Grace”

  1. jordashblack Says:

    We are praying for you guys. I know you have a lot on your plate right now. I can’t even imagine trying to keep a perfect home with 1 toddler much less 3 under the age of 4! You are a super woman. I know you are doing it by yourself right now as Brett is away house hunting. I wish I could be there to lighten the load or give you a place to go with the kids when you need to get out for a showing… hang in there as I know you are 🙂 We will pray for a quick sale, a quick find on the perfect house for your family, peace as you leave all your wonderful friends and all that is familiar and set out for a fresh start in a new place. God has so much in store for you both as you do amazing things for HIM! We love you!

  2. lucashannon Says:

    Sarah I pray that you come through this difficult time with more blessings than you could imagine. You are such a gracious person but don’t be afraid to bask in the grace that others extend to you. You will make it through! You are awesome!

  3. Kirstin Says:

    Sarah….BIG HUG! And give yourself permission to step back and take care of you and your family. You are an amazing woman, and who wouldn’t feel overwhelmed with all that on your plate. Daddy knows, and I just declare a BIG GIANT Daddy hug for you right when you need it. I’ll be praying for smooth transitions, your home to sell quickly and to find just the right home in Florida…where in florida are you moving?

    Much love!!!

  4. Lizz @ Yes, and So is my Heart Says:

    You’re doing great! You really, really are!


Leave a Reply

