I’m Back, For One Night Only

I have good intentions to write a final post, commemorating my time in Kansas.  But, whew, it’s been a crazy few weeks.  We FINALLY move into our new home tomorrow, which means we’ve been homeless for 10 days.  Fortunately, our home closing went very smooth.  We met the new owners, and I realized I am overly invested in them loving their new home!  I keep thinking about them and wondering how life is in our old house.  They’re a darling family, and my neighbor texted to say they’ve already all hung out!

Our road trip is getting long, but it has been really fun visiting our friends and family.  We drove about 5 hours a day and received wonderful hospitality at each stop.  I am so thankful for people who open their homes to our family.

A few highlights along the way…..

– For about the last hour of our trip, Chloe and Caleb kept saying, “You’re the best Mommy.  You’re the best Daddy.  You’re the best Lukey….” (to the respective person).  It was DARLING, especially since Chloe was in the habit of telling me she did not like me.

– Chloe still refers to me as “Sarah” or “Sarah Lynn” (from Little People).  I laugh everytime she says it, even though I do not let her get away with it.  She is so precious when she says it that I just love it.

– While driving, neither of us noticed the gas light was on.  With about 7 miles left in our tank, we found a gas station.  A very disgusting one.  But better than the alternative!

– I think I am the worst traveler of all.  One day, we were deciding between driving 4 or 8 hours.  I pleaded, “The kids just will not last 8 hours.”  Brett replied, “You mean, you won’t last 8 hours?”  (Sad, but he’s right.  I do not like driving long distances.)

– A stop at Chick Fil A perks everyone up.  (And my kids can spot their logo from a mile away.)

– So does soda.

– Florida has all outdoor play places at fast food places.  It is 1803 degrees here.  Miserable for kids to play on.

– Caleb and I had a sweet conversation about Jesus.  He picks up more than I could have imagined.

– Every time we pass a lot of trees, Caleb YELLS, “MOM, LOOK!!!  It’s a rainforest!!!!”  It kind of scared me the first few times, when he shouted (since he is quiet, typically).

– Chloe and Caleb like to pretend.  They play the role of people they love.  They’re so precious.

– Driving through Tallahassee, Brett and I got to share with our kids of how we fell in love there.  Chloe said she wants to put on a pretty dress and get married with me.

– I loved reminiscing in Tallahassee.  Such a tender moment when I realized that I left there with so many hopes and dreams….all of which were fulfilled during my time in Kansas.  I now have new dreams and am looking forward to what the next 5 years hold.

– Living out of a suitcase and car for 10 days is not my thing.  But I have survived.  I feel like we’re on a trip, and the fact we’re relocating has not set in.

– Caleb and Chloe learned to jump off the side of the pool.  And even went underwater.  They loved the former, not so much the latter.

These memories are not road trip specific, but I want to remember them.

– Recently, I told Caleb, “Chloe and I are pretending.”  She replied, “No, we are for realing.”

– My kids call McDonald’s “Uncle Donald’s”.

–  Caleb uses “hers” instead of “she”.  And its really cute.  One of these days I suppose I will teach him the correct way.

– My kids can navigate an iPhone and ask me to download new apps.

I have so much more I want to say, but I need to get packed.  We are making our final drive this evening.  My older two kids are staying at their grandparents for 2 more days, so we can get somewhat settled before they arrive!!

I will not have internet for 2 weeks, so my memories post may have to wait!

2 Responses to “I’m Back, For One Night Only”

  1. lucashannon Says:

    Best of luck with moving in! I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately and can’t wait to hear how you get all settled in!

  2. Lizz @ Yes, and So is my Heart Says:

    Thinking of you quite a bit these past few days. Fun to read your post. Hope you are getting settled and unpacked!


Leave a Reply

